Defending the Hollywood Riviera

New Years greetings to all residents of the Hollywood Riviera – we wish you a happy and prosperous 2018!

In addition to our ‘normal’ activities that occupy the year – the landscape awards, scholarship awards, community meetings, and more – we continue to keep a watchful eye on developments (and developers) that threaten to crowd and diminish the character of the Riviera.  We’ll keep you updated on the Legado project (in Redondo Beach at PCH and Palos Verdes Blvd) as well as the Butcher Hill project at Hawthorne and Valmonte.  We also keep a watchful eye on home enlargements to make sure the Hillside Overlay remains steadfastly enforced.   Stay tuned for more news and please think about getting involved with the RHA to keep our Riviera the most desirable community in the South Bay.

Tired of Traffic on PCH, Newton, and Vista Montana?
—THERE’S MORE AHEAD!!!!

Starbuck’s Coffee is planning a new drive-thru-only coffee shop on the corner of PCH and Vista Montana, once the now vacant Maria’s restaurant is torn down.  The construction has already been approved by the Torrance Planning Commission.

No businesses or residents have appealed the approval, but Councilman Mike Griffiths has appealed the construction pending the lengthening of the left-turn pocket from westbound PCH onto Vista Montana, and a sign forbidding left turns onto PCH from Ladeene Street (across the street from Walgreen’s).

If you think that either
a) Putting another Starbuck’s on PCH, at this busy intersection is an incredibly bad idea, or
b) At a minimum the left-turn pocket and lane from westbound PCH be lengthened as a necessary condition for this project
then come to this week’s City Council meeting TUESDAY JANUARY 9 AT CITY HALL (beginning 7 PM)  TO VOICE YOUR CONCERNS.  THIS IS THE ONLY PUBLIC HEARING ON THIS ISSUE.

Councilman Griffiths is asking for public support.  He is only one vote out of seven on the city council.  Please help keep the traffic as safe as possible in our neighborhood. Thank you!!!!

Email contact for city officials:
pfurey@torranceca.gov (Mayor Furey),
HAshcraft@Torranceca.Gov(Council mbr Heidi Ashcraft),
tgoodrich@torranceca.gov (Council mbr Tim Goodrich,
mgriffiths@torranceca.gov (council mbr Mike Griffiths),
mherring@torranceca.gov (council mbr Milt Herring),
grizzo@torranceca.gov (council mbr Geoff Rizzo),
kweideman@torranceca.gov (council mbr Kurt Weideman)

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: